Glyphic Wand
[Time:: Slow Action] [Target:: A surface in Swinging Distance that is at least the size of your hand]
[Requires:: A Spell Scroll]
You touch a Spell Scroll to a solid surface and transfer its magic into a Glyph attached to the surface. The Spell Scroll is destroyed in the process.
The Glyph fills a circle centered on the point you touched that can be as small as your hand up to a diameter of a Spitting Distance, provided that it can fit on the surface touched and does not overlap any other Glyphic Wands.
The Glyph has the same Mage Stat as its creator, and only one Beat per round. If the Spell Ability has target requirements, you must predefine the target at the time of creating the Glyph. If the target is listed as a specific creature or object, a line of fire can be specified instead, with the first creature touching the line becoming the target.
If the Wand Glyph contains a Spell Ability, the Glyph is dismissed after dealing Damage, Failing a Test while Exhausted, or Failing a Test while Strained.
if the Wand Glyph contains a Spell Ability that has a Concentration Component, it requires your Concentration for it to exist. If such a Glyph uses its Ability while a previous use of its Ability is still active, the previous use ends and the new use of the Ability takes over.
Possible Glyph Abilities:
[Time:: Action] [Target:: N/A]
After a specified amount of time, start the contained Spell Ability.
[Time:: Reaction] [Target:: N/A]
[Trigger:: Upon receiving a predefined Glyph Command]
Start the contained Spell Ability now.
[Time:: Free Reaction] [Target:: Self]
[Trigger:: Upon receiving a predefined Glyph Command]
End the Spell Ability, provided that the Spell Ability can be voluntarily ended.
[Time:: Reaction] [Target:: N/A]
[Trigger:: *When touched or no longer touched by a predefined object or creature]
Start the Spell Ability.
The object or creature can be specific (like a specific book or a specific person you have met) or generic (like an object's material, a creature's type, or that a creature must be holding or wearing an object or uniform of some type.)
[Time:: Free Reaction] [Target:: All connected Glyphs]
[Trigger:: When this Glyph starts a Spell Ability, has its Spell Ability take effect, or ends its Spell Ability]
Send a Glyph Command.
If the Spell Ability can Prepare Abilities, they may be specified as Glyph Abilities. Any choices contained in those Prepared Abilities must be made at the time of creating the Glyph. If the Prepared Ability does not have a Reaction Trigger, you can specify that the Ability will be used at the first valid moment after receiving a predefined Glyph Command.
- Memorized. Requires Level 5.
- You can create this Glyph without a Spell Scroll, provided that you know the Spell Ability and it's Test is not affected by being Exhausted or Strained. When using this option, the Glyph requires your Concentration to exist.
- Expertise(1). Requires Level 5.
- A Wand Glyph with a Concentration Component can be created without using your Concentration. If you do so, and the Wand Glyph targets a creature, the Glyph must roll a Concentration Focus Save each time its target moves to a new location each Round.
- When creating a Glyph containing an Ability affected by being Exhausted or Strained, you can take on a stack of Exhausted in order to add a Charge to the Glyph, provided that you have less than 2 stacks of Exhausted to start with. If this Wand Glyph later fails a Test while Exhausted or Strained, a Charge is lost instead of the Glyph being dismissed.
- Expertise(2). Requires Level 10.
- When you add a Charge to this Wand Glyph, if the Glyph now has 10 charges, then the Glyph no longer needs to spend Charges to keep from being dismissed.
- When creating a Wand Glyph with a Concentration Component, you can transfer your Concentration on an active Spell Ability to this newly created Glyph. The Glyph takes on the Spell Ability and its Concentration as if it had cast the Spell Ability. This happens when the Glyphic Spell takes effect.
See the Glyphic Spell Rules for more.