1.8. Abilities
During Freeplay and Encounters, you will often rely on the Abilities listed on your Character Sheet. You can also improvise activities that are not "official Abilities" and are not found on your Character Sheet.
Abilities on the Basic Ability List are available to all characters. The next chapter (1.9. Basic Abilities) will go over each of the Basic Ability and when and how you will use them.
At the top of each Ability you will find a header. This header contains key details about the Ability and when and how you can use it:
- Time. (Or "Ability Time") defines how long the Ability takes to start and when it will take effect.
- Target. What you can target with the Ability, including how far away the target can be.
- Triggers. Conditions that allow you to start the Ability. If the condition does not occur, you cannot use that Ability.
- Requirements. Conditions that you must meet to start an Ability.
- Components. Conditions that you must meet to start the Ability. Failing to do so will give you a Disadvantage on the Ability Test for each missing Component.
- Test. A summary of the Test you will need to make for the Ability.
- Saves. A summary of what Saves your targets may need to make to avoid extra effects.
- Effects. A summary of what types of effects the Ability will cause.
Following the header, you will find a full description of the Ability and its effects. The Ability's description may will add conditions or other details to any header information that had an asterisk next to it.
Ability Time
An Ability's "Ability Time" describes both when you can start it and how long it takes before the Ability will take effect.
Ability Time will matter less in Freeplay, but when an Encounter begins, you will need to pay close attention to your Ability Times, as they will determine when you can use each Ability.
There're eight Ability Times: Action, Free Action, Slow Action, Reaction, Free Reaction, Passive, Montage, and Episodic.
Action
The most common Ability Time.
You must spend a Beat on your Turn to start an Action, choosing its targets. After that, you will perform the Ability's Test to determine its Score, then the Ability will take effect.
Free Action
A "Free Action" is the same as an Action, but you do not need to spend a Beat.
You can improvise a handful of Free Actions on your Turn to do simple things, like opening a door, dropping an item, or talking smack.
Slow Action
You must spend a Beat on your Turn to start a Slow Action, choosing its targets. After that, you will need to wait until the start of your next Turn, at which time you will perform the Ability's Test to determine its Score, then the Ability takes effect.
The targets of an Ability, along with its Requirements and Components, are all evaluated when performing an Ability's Test. Because of this, a Slow Action can get interrupted or its targets can become invalid in-between when it's started and when it takes effect.
When you start a Slow Action, you may choose targets that are initially invalid (due to being out or range, sight, etc.) so long as your chosen targets become valid before it comes time to perform the Test for the Ability. Any invalid targets when it comes time to perform the Test for the Ability no longer count as targets.
A Slow Action's Requirements and Components are also evaluated when you perform the Test for the Ability. This means that a Slow Action can get interrupted if its Requirements or Components are no longer met when it comes time to perform the Test for the Ability. (This chapter will discuss Requirements and Components below.)
Slow Actions are generally stronger. If an ally begins a Slow Action, you will want to help ensure it remains uninterrupted and effective. Conversely, if an enemy starts a Slow Action, you will want to try to get out of the way or interrupt it.
If a Slow Action targets a Shape, the Shape Origin will not move when you move. The Cone Shape and the Line Shape are especially vulnerable, as their Shape Origin lies where you stand. Moving from that spot would then invalidate target. Other Shapes will instead target a point within a certain range of you. For those, so long as that point remains targetable and in range, the Slow Action will not get interrupted.
Reaction
All Reactions will list a Reaction Trigger. When a Reaction's Trigger occurs, you can then immediately spend a Beat to start the Reaction, regardless of who's Turn it is. After that, you will perform the Reaction's Test to determine its Score, then it will take effect.
If ever more than one character uses a Reaction for the same Reaction Trigger, you will resolve the Reactions in the same order as the current Turn Order.
Each character can only use one Reaction or Free Reaction per Reaction Trigger.
Free Reactions
Free Reactions are the same as Reactions, but do not cost a Beat to start.
Again, each character can only use one Reaction or Free Reaction per Reaction Trigger.
Unless the Ability states otherwise, there is no limit to the number of Free Reactions that you can perform in a Round, provided their Reaction Triggers occur and you perform only one Reaction or Free Reaction per Reaction Trigger.
Passives
A Passive Ability is always in effect. You do not need to start them and they don't have an end.
The Climber Ability is a Passive that always provides you with the ability to Climb.
Montages
Montages are Abilities that you cannot use in an Encounter and they often take 10 to 15 minutes to complete. Montages represent a long period of sustained effort, during which time you won't be able to use any other Abilities. The Test for the Montage occurs once you complete the entire hour or so of sustained effort.
Since all Montages happen during Freeplay, the exact amount of time that they take is up to interpretation. If you take steps to speed up whatever process you are about to undertake, then the GM may let the Montage happen in less time.
Episodics
You can use an Episodic Ability at the end of the Opening Credits of an Episode. Episodic Abilities often grant points that you can spend later in an Episode, though some have other effects, like granting you visions of things to come. You will lose anything you gain through an Episodic Ability at the end of an Episode, so you will want to be sure to use it while you can.
Targets
Each Ability will lay out what targets are valid for that Ability. This will often include the types of creatures you can affect along with a Distance at which you can affect said targets.
Creature Tags
Some Ability can only target creatures with a certain Creature Tag. You can find a full list of Creature Tags, like Undead or Construct, in the Creature Tag List in the Appendix.
Distances
There're 6 Distances used by Abilities. Often you will only be able to target things within a certain Distance. A Distance prefixed with 'True' means you do not need to be able to see the target, so it cannot take cover.
Each of the 6 Distances list a Theater of the Mind description of how far hit reaches along with a number of units, if you prefer to play with a map and figurines.
Below are some examples of the 6 Distances:
- Targets in Swinging Distance(1u) are close enough for melee combat. This includes martial arts, swordplay, etc.
- Targets in Spearing Distance(2u) you could stab with a longer weapon, like a spear or a chain weapon.
- Targets in Spitting Distance(4u) are close enough to spit on, splash with a potion, or spray with a spell that shoots out a wave of fire.
- Targets in Throwing Distance(8u) are close enough to effectively throw darts, rocks, spears, or magical bolts.
- Targets in Shooting Distance(16u) are in range of bows, crossbows, slings, and longer range magical attacks.
- Targets in Sniping Distance(100u) you'd be able to target with a longbow or a long-range spell.
Shapes
Some Abilities will target a "Shape" instead of creatures or objects directly. When targeting a Shape, you have a chance to affect everything that touches the Shape's area.
Every Shape will have a Shape Origin. This serves as the actual target of the Ability and the point from which the effects will flow outward in straight lines. Objects block this flow, unless the shape is a "True" Shape. Anything touching a part of the Shape to which the effect can flow from the origin will become a target of the Ability once the Ability Test begins.
You must target a Shape's Origin and specify its orientation when you start an Ability. Because of this, the creatures within the Shape may have a chance to escape the Shape.
Below is a detailed description of each of the five possible Shapes:
Cone Shape
The Cone Shape's Origin is located where you are and extends outward from you. The cone's width at a given point along its length is equal to that point's distance from the Origin. The cone's length will be a Distance provided by the Ability. The cone's Origin is not included in the shape, unless you decide otherwise.
Cube Shape
The Cube Shape's Origin lies anywhere on a face of the cubic area. The Shape Origin must be within the Distance described by the Ability. The cube will express its size as a Distance in the Ability that is equal to length of each side. A cube's Origin is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.
Cylinder Shape
The Cylinder Shape's Origin is the center of a circle. The circle will provide its radius as a Distance. The circle must either be on the ground or at the height of the spell effect. The energy in a cylinder expands in straight lines from the Origin to the perimeter of the circle, forming the base of the cylinder. The spell's effect then shoots up from the base or down from the top. This Distance is described in the Ability as the "height" of the cylinder. A cylinder's Origin is included in the cylinder's area of effect.
Line Shape
The Line Shape's Origin is placed at your location and extends in a straight line outward a Distance provided by the Ability. A line's point of origin is not included in the line's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise.
Sphere
The Sphere Shape's Origin is a point you choose within a Distance specified by the Ability. The sphere extends outward from that point by a Distance also provided by the Ability. A sphere's point of origin is included in the cylinder's area of effect.
Triggers
All Reaction and Free Reaction Abilities will list a "Reaction Triggers."Reaction Triggers describe the events that will allow you to start a Reaction Ability. You cannot use a Reaction or Free Reaction unless its Reaction Trigger occurs.
Some Reaction Triggers will note that they trigger when a creature "starts an Ability". In these cases, your Reaction Ability will start and take effect after the start of the triggering Ability, but before the triggering Ability's Test and effects. In this way, you can sometimes escape an Ability or otherwise affect it Reactions or Free Reactions.
Requirements
From the Glossary:
Components
From the Glossary:
(See the next section on Ability Tests for more on Concentration.)
#Bob is getting attacked and is low on Health. #Bob wants to use the Dodge Ability to reduce the Damage that he is about to take.
#Bob looks and sees that the Dodge Ability has a Component of "1 Dodge Point". #Bob has no more Dodge Points. #Bob decides to use the Dodge Ability anyway.
Since #Bob cannot fulfil the Dodge Point Component, he must make the Test for the Dodge Ability with a Disadvantage. #Bob fails the Test, but even with a Low Score, #Bob can reduce the incoming Damage by 1 point, saving his life.
Ability Tests
Abilities describe a Test that you will need to perform. The Score of the Test will determine what effect the Ability has.
Tests will most often use one of the three Archetype Stats as the Modifier for the Test: Fighter Stat, Rogue Stat, or Mage Stat. That said, an Ability can also list a Skill or any other Modifier from your Character Sheet.
You will also modify your Test based on what Components you satisfy, what Status Conditions you have, and what Ability Bonuses and Penalties have their conditions met. (More on [[#Bonuses and Penalties]] later.)
When performing an Action, Free Action, Reaction, or Free Reaction, you will perform the Test right after starting the Ability. If someone uses a Reaction or Free Reaction in response to you starting the Ability, you will instead make the Test after their Ability takes effect.
After starting a Slow Action, you will perform the Test at the start of your next Turn. From when you start the Slow Action to when the Test takes place, other creatures and events can interrupt or get in the way of your Slow Action.
After you roll your Ability Test, the Ability will immediately take effect based on your Test's Score.
Some Abilities list no Test (and no Score Ranges.) For these Abilities, the Test is an automatic "Mixed Score", and the effects are what happen as a result of that Mixed Score. Rare effects can still cause you to Fail these automatic Abilities. In those cases, the Ability will have no effect.
Some Tests will list one of three Status Conditions after their Modifier: Exhausted, Strained, or Concentrating.
When the Ability lists one of these Status Condition, the Status Condition affects that Test, as described below (for more on Status Condition, see 2.7. Status Conditions and Saving Throws):
Strain
From the Appendix:
Strained, like most Status Conditions, is a Fleeting Condition. That means you will lose one stack of Strained at the end of each of your Turns. In this way, Straining Abilities are difficult to use without taking a break from using Straining Abilities while you wait for your level of Strain to go down.
- #Bob starts his turn with 2 Beats.
- #Bob spends a Beat to use the Multi-Attack Ability.
- The Multi-Attack Ability states: "Test: Fighter Stat Strained"
- #Bob performs his Test for the Ability and gets a High Score. As a result, #Bob gains a stack of Strained and #Bob gains two extra Beats to use on Melee Attacks this Turn.
- #Bob uses his two extra Beats to perform Melee Attacks.
- #Bob has one Beat remaining and decides to try to use Multi-Attack again.
- Since #Bob has a stack of Strained, #Bob must perform the Test for Multi-Attack with a Disadvantage.
- #Bob Fails the Test. As a result, #Bob gains a stack of Vulnerable and must end his Turn, though he does not gain a stack of Strained.
- #Bob ends his Turn, but since he gained the stacks of Strained on this Turn, #Bob will have to wait until the end of his next Turn to remove the stack of Strained he gained on this Turn.
Exhaustion
From the Appendix:
Exhausted is a Persistent Condition, meaning you will not lose stacks of it at the end of your Turn. You will instead lose all stacks of Exhausted at the end of the Episode. This makes Exhausting Abilities difficult to use more than once or twice per Episode. Exhausting Abilities are generally stronger than all other Abilities.
- The Hag starts her Elemental Blast, targeting #Bob, who is almost dead.
- #Alice uses her Delay Ability in Reaction to the Hag's Spell.
- The Delay Ability states: "Test: Mage Stat Exhausted"
- #Alice performs her Test for the Ability and gets a High Score. As a result, #Alice gains a stack of Exhausted and the Hag's Spell changes from being an Action to being a Slow Action, meaning the Hag will need to wait until the start of her next Turn before she can perform her Ability Test and before her Elemental Blast can take effect. This gives #Bob a chance to get behind cover.
- The Hag starts another Elemental Blast, this time targeting #Alice.
- #Alice attempts to use her Delay Ability again.
- Since #Alice has a stack of Exhausted, #Alice must perform the Test for Delay with a Disadvantage.
- #Alice Fails the Test. As a result, #Alice's Delay has no effect, though she does not gain a stack of Strained.
- The Hag performs her Elemental Blast Test against #Alice and #Alice takes some Damage as a result.
- The Hag ends her Turn. #Bob is able to get behind cover. When the Hag's next Turn starts, #Bob is an invalid target of the delayed Elemental Blast, so the Elemental Blast no longer has any targets and is an automatic Fail with no effect.
- #Alice will retain her stacks of Exhausted until the end of the Episode.
Concentration
Abilities with a Test that involves "Concentration" (or "Concentration Abilities") impose one stack of Concentrating when they take effect. This stack of Concentrating is persistent and only removed when the Ability or its effects come to an end.
For each stack of Concentrating that you have, you will gain a Disadvantage on future Ability Tests that involve Concentration. If you fail a Concentration Ability Test, all active Concentration Abilities will end. When you Fail such an Ability Test, the Ability that just failed may still take effect (if it describes a Low Score effect.)
While you have stacks of Concentrating, if you take Damage or if one of the Components of one of your active Concentration Abilities gets interrupted, then you will need to make a Focus Save. This Focus Save will have a Disadvantage for each stack of Concentrating that you have. If you Fail the Focus Save, all active Concentration Ability effects end.
- #Alice uses the Illusion Spell Ability.
- The Illusion Spell states: "Test: Mage Stat Concentrating"
- #Alice performs her Test for the Ability and gets a High Score. #Alice creates an illusory image of a book on the altar. This active effect gives #Alice a stack of Concentrating, which will persist while the illusion does.
- #Alice attempts to use Illusion again to try to create spooky whispers coming from the book. This time #Alice must make the Test with a Disadvantage, since she has a stack of Concentrating. #Alice gets a Low Score, causing all her active Concentration Ability effects to end, meaning her illusory book disappears. When the book vanishes, so does #Alice 's stack of Concentrating. That said, on a Low Score, Illusion Spell still takes effect, so the whispers begin to chant in the empty spot where the illusory book used to be. While the whispers are active #Alice once again gains a stack of Concentrating that will persist while the whispers do.
- #Alice is out of Beats and ends her Turn.
Ability Saves
Abilities that list a Save will require that the targets of the Ability perform a Save after you have finished your Ability Test. The Ability will list which Modifier to use for the Save. This will most often be your Grit, Edge, or Focus Modifier. The description of the Ability will describe what happens when a target Passes or Fails the Save.
Your Score on the Ability's Test always affects the Save Test of your targets in the following ways:
- [0!] Critical Failure. The target automatically Passes their Save.
- [..6] Low. The target must make their Save with an Advantage.
- [7..9] Mixed. The target makes their Save with no extra modification.
- [10..] High. The target must make their Save with a Disadvantage.
- [10!] Critical Success. The target automatically Fails their Save.
Ability Effects
An Ability's header will provide a quick reference of what types of effects the Ability has. Some Reaction Triggers will apply to Abilities that have a particular effect listed. For example, if a Reaction Trigger were to state "When a creature uses a Healing Effect Ability," then you can use that Reaction whenever a creature uses an Ability that lists "Healing" under the "effects" part of its header.
In the body of an Ability, you will find the descriptions of the Ability's effects. These effects will often depend on what Score you got on the Ability Test.
Unless it states otherwise, and Ability's effects are instantaneous and end right after they begin. Abilities that require Concentrate will stay in active and in effect until you lose your Concentration on that Ability. Abilities will also often describe conditions that, when met, will cause the Ability to end.
Flavors
When you take a new Ability that has a list of Flavors to choose from, you must choose your starting Flavor(s) at the time of gaining the Ability. The Flavor that you chose will then remain fixed for the entire life of that Ability. Flavors often change the Damage Type of an Ability or what Saves it can impose on your targets.
#Alice learns the Elemental Blast Spell. The Spell has a long list of Flavors to choose from and notes that you must "Pick One". #Alice picks the "Fiery Bolt" Flavor to give her blasts a fire effect. #Alice's Elemental Blast now has the "Fiery Bolt" Flavor, which #Alice cannot change, (unless she replaces the Ability or gains some other Ability that lets her change her Flavor choices.)
Bonuses and Penalties
An Ability will often list Bonuses and Penalties that will change either the Test or the effects of the Ability.
Each Penalty will describe a condition that, when met, means you must apply that Penalty's effect. Most Penalties will give you a Disadvantage on the Ability Test. Bonuses are similar, except you can choose to skip them (unless they state otherwise) and they often grant you an Advantage on your Ability Test. Some Bonuses will require a cost to their activation. You will determine which Bonuses and Penalties to apply when you start your Ability's Test.
Upgrades
Upgrades permanently improve an Ability, often making it deal more Damage or have less restrictions.
To Upgrade an Ability, you must already know that Ability. Whenever you gain the option of Upgrading an Ability, you will need to pay attention to the type of Upgrade gained, as you can only use an Upgrade on Ability Upgrades that match that same type. For example, you can only take a Spell Ability's Upgrades when you gain a Spell Ability Upgrade.
The Upgrade types are:
- Basic Ability Upgrades - Usable on Basic Abilities.
- Fighter Upgrades - Usable on Fighter Abilities and some Basic Abilities.
- Rogue Upgrades - Usable on Rogue Abilities and some Basic Abilities.
- Mage Upgrades - Usable on Mage Abilities and some Basic Abilities.
- Item Upgrades - Usable on Items. Getting a good Score on an Item Search often grants Upgrades for one instance of the item. When you gain a permanent Item Upgrade, you will, from then on, always be able to apply the Upgrade to new instances of that Item (in addition to the one-time Upgrades gained from Item Search itself.)
- Spell Upgrades - Usable on Spell Abilities.
- Prestige Upgrades - Usable on any Ability to gain any Upgrade, ignoring Requirements. Some Abilities will also explicitly list "Prestige Upgrades" that you can only gain using a Prestige Upgrade. Upgrades listed as "Prestige Upgrades" are stronger and should be your first consideration when choosing a Prestige Upgrade.
You can find all Upgrades for an Ability at the bottom of the Ability. Much like Abilities themselves, you may need to reach certain Levels or other Requirements before you can take on those Upgrades.
Some Upgrades share the same name and have a number in parenthesis after them (as in Powerful(1) and Powerful(2).) These Upgrades are a series. You must take each Upgrade in a series in order. Each Upgrade in a series will supersede the effects of the one before it for a stronger effect.
Prepared Abilities
Some Abilities, when used, will "Prepare" a different Ability. Until that Ability is Prepared, it will be unusable. For example an Ability may "Prepare a Reaction" or "Prepare a Free Reaction" etc. When this happens, you get to add Prepared Ability to your Character Sheet for a limited time.
Each Prepared Ability will stipulate a different case for when it expires (or when its once again removed from your Character Sheet.) For example, if a Prepared Reaction "expires after one use," then you will only be able to use it once, at which time it will becoming unavailable again. Most Prepared Abilities will expire after a certain span of time or if you lose Concentration on the Ability that Prepared it.
Glyphic Spell Ability Rules
You can use Glyphic Spells to create security systems and magical mechanisms. The Glyphic Spells rely on shared sets of rules that allow them to connect to form complex networks of magical machinery. Magical shops often use Glyphs to protect their merchandise and strongholds will rely on Glyphs for extra defense.
Learning the shared Glyphic Spell Rules will help when you encounter security systems and traps. Masting these rules will also let you create Glyph combos of your own.
Unless otherwise stated, all Glyphs created by Glyphic Spells have the following shared rules:
- A Glyphic Spell creates a Glyph that appears as a rune, set of runes, sigil, or magic circle that is Invisible.
- Glyphs do not have a Turn of their own during an Encounter, but have one Beat they can use per Round to perform Reactions. Glyphs can also use Free Reactions. A Glyph's Beat is reset at the end of the Turn Order of a Round.
- Each Glyphic Spell lists a set of Glyph Abilities that its summoned Glyph can use. When summoning a Glyph, you must specify all the Glyph Abilities that you are assigning to a Glyph before the Glyphic Spell takes effect. You must also specify the targets, Glyph Commands, and any other details of those Glyph Abilities before the Glyphic Spell takes effect. Unless otherwise stated, you can add the same Glyph Ability to a Glyph more than once, provided you specify different details each time. You cannot alter the details of a Glyph Ability after the Glyphic Spell takes effect.
- When starting a Glyph Ability, you can connect a Glyph to any other Glyph within Swinging Distance(1u) of it. Most Glyph Abilities can send out a Glyph Command as a part of its effects. When a Glyph is about to send out a Glyph Command, it shines with visible light for a moment (of a color of the creator's choice.) At the start of the next Round (or 6 secs later) all connected Glyphs, and the glyph itself, will receive the Glyph Command which, in-turn, may trigger their Glyph Abilities. Since triggered Glyph Abilities can also issue Glyph Commands, a network of connected Glyphs can create a chain reaction of Glyph Abilities that activate one Round after another in response to the previous Round's Glyph Abilities. A skilled Glyph hacker may be able to interrupt this chain or figure out what Glyph Commands to inject to twist the network to their will.
- You can attach some Glyphs to surfaces. If two connected Glyphs are ever moved more than a Spitting Distance(4u) apart, their connection is permanently broken.
- All Glyphs can have the following Glyph Abilities (in addition to any described in their Glyphic Spell description):
Time: Free Reaction Target: Self
Trigger: Upon receiving a predefined Glyph Command
Permanently dismiss this Glyph.
Time: Free Reaction Target: Self
Trigger: Upon receiving a predefined Glyph Command
Temporarily disable this Glyph for a specified amount of time.
Next Up: 1.10. Covert Operations